top of page

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

Wrapping Things Up

I still have not been able to find a script that enables me to add footsteps sounds to my character. I have been searching for weeks on end online and in books, and asked classmates, even asked my two friends, one who does programming and the other who does the game course over in Mouslecoomb, but unfortunately, it did not work out. However, with everything else there already is, I am not as distraught.

I ended up riding the clock sound. This is because it is such a quite sound and just get's drowned out by all other sounds in the game. However, the baking track does have a clock like sound in it, so it's alright. I also managed to semi-succesffuly blend in the cubes/trigger zones for each object (the firetruck, doll house and robot) with the games planks. I did this by copying the material from a previous version of the game I had saved and changing it's name so I could add it into my game. I did this all because I discovered the hard way that once you alter the material in Unity, there is no back/undo button. So it meant my planks and the cube were all messy looking. I don't have an image to show unfortunately as I forgot to take one yesterday.

Today I decided to focus on making sure the mixing was done well. This meant making sure the fade ins for the trigger zones was fast or slow enough, and making sure that no sound was drowned out but pieced well with everything else in the game. So making sure that the sounds of the enemies dying or the backing track were not competing with each other much. If any sounds were too loud (which some were such as the Hellephants "hurt" sound, I would go back into Ableton or Logic and adjust the volume there and import the updated version into the game. I also went ahead and adjusted other things in the game such as the deaths of the characters and their life span, and the distance and frequency you could fire shots.

I have not been able to export it properly though, as when I do, for some reason it deletes my players movement script and so i can't navigate in. I am planning to in early tomorrow in the hopes that anyone (classmates or Milo) can assist me.

Overall, I'm feeling pretty confident about this game and I hope it proves to be a great showcasing tomorrow of my capabtilites to the class as it has shown me that I can do so much than I thought I could. I also hope I will be able to use it in the future as an example of my skills if I apply for a sound designing job somewhere. I plan on talking about what I did and how I created sounds, and then getting the class or who ever wants to, to play my game.

  • Screen Shot 2016-01-18 at 11.12.41
  • SoundCloud Social Icon
bottom of page