top of page

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

Final Countdown

It has now been a week I was given (we all were) given extra due to Milo's absence, and yet, 9 books later and lots of online research later, I am still struggling to do what I thought would be a simple yet creative idea; adding music to a game object to be triggered on approach. At this point I am beginning to wonder if I should just let it be and focus on my other idea which will hopefully be achievable - adding footsteps to my character.

The sound I would be aiming for for the footsteps would be something that sounds wood like due to the texture of the flooring in the environment, however given the players characteristics (the size and clothing) it would have to suggest someone lightly walking on a wooden floor with something soft. I know from research that when I find the sounds, I should randomise them so that the sound of the footsteps is not a bore to the listener/becomes irritating.

I also did some rethinking about the sound of the gunshot, which I was initially going to initially going to record using my own voice. One thing I am grateful for is having taken the time to go and loan books from the library. Although none helped with my initial idea, some inspired others. I will on Monday, borrow a mic to take home with me, and use my flatmates leather belt to record the gunshot sound. I think I would also like to find out how to randomise this sound as well to keep things interesting, but that will depend on how much time I have remaining. Hopefully I will be able to though.

If I can somehow manage to find out how to program a script to add sounds to game objects, I do not only intend on adding one to the clock, but copying and pasting that section of the script, and of course altering it as need be, to add it to other game objects in the environment. These would include adding "creepy" sounds to the doll house, and perhaps also adding some "robotic" sounds to the broken robot on the floor. For the doll house I will add sounds I find online, and the robot sound I will try to create on Ableton or Logic. However if I find this task hard, I will simply get one online instead.

I want to have decided if my initial idea is possible or not by the end of Monday's session (18th) . I think I will have to unfortunately resort to asking Milo. If I could at least get the clock to work that would be amazing.

  • Screen Shot 2016-01-18 at 11.12.41
  • SoundCloud Social Icon
bottom of page