top of page

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

Countdown - Easter Break Work Review - Part 2: Problems Encountered and Solutions

Throughout the break I encountered quite some problems:

The first issue was deciding what to do. However in the end, I was lucky enough that this problem was solved within days because if I had not, it would heavily impact the time I spend working on the actual project. It was a touch decision but I felt that by using a Unity tutorial, I'd be ensured that things would not fault as much as if they do, I could address the Unity community or the Unity Youtube community (as their video tutorials were posted on Youtube).

What is my biggest issue was, and still sort of is, however I am not as afraid and panicky about it as much now thanks to a discussion with my peers, is the quality of my work. I think my work is good, however my fear is that it isn't good enough. This fear stems from the fact that when looked at from a broad perspective, I only switched the audio that Unity used with my own, and I don't know if that really can count as enough done. I discussed this with my mother and she agreed that I should aim to make my work not only useable for my CV should i apply to a sound design for game job/internship or something similar or related. That I should use that as my guide as to whether or not my work is good enough or not. This problem is still in the "to be solved phase". One thing I have been working, which was inspired by the first Unity tutorial I did - "Adding music to your Game". I had a look at the scene and it occurred to me that I could use the clock as a sound object. If I code a script to make it so that I have a trigger zone around the clock, perhaps using the box collider, I could make it so that whenever the player moves close to the clock, you hear a ticking sound. I am still struggling with the coding bit of this, and I am currently doing research to find out how to do it. I am also considering adding footstep sounds to the player character, but this will depend on time as I will be very busy during the up coming week, which makes me glad that I did a lot of work over the break, else I would be struggling a lot! So far I have attempted to create a script, add the audio the same way the audio source was added in the "adding music to your game tutorial", and just plug in the audio component (the ticking clock sound) to the clock object. Still a working progress. Hopefully things will be looking up very soon!

Lastly, another issue I faced was earlier this week, a few days ago when I attempted to show my friend my work, because I had been working on the clock sound script, I had altered a lot. What I did not realise is that even though I save versions of the scene, the changes I make with things such as scripts will still apply to all versions of the scene. This meant that since there were of course errors in my clock sound code, I could not play the game. This is because Unity has a feature that will stop you from hitting play if there is an error somewhere indoor game. Which of course is really helpful, but it meant that I had to go back and delete all changes I had made. Which though it sucks, isn't so bad since it was an unfinished product. However just to be sure, I copied and pasted my scripts and changes I made/things I deleted into a word document. My game now works again, I just still need to develop a proper functional script.

  • Screen Shot 2016-01-18 at 11.12.41
  • SoundCloud Social Icon
bottom of page