top of page

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

Countdown - Easter Break Work Review - Part 1: The Work

As I get closer and closer to the due date of P3, the more and more I panic. I think I have achieved quite a lot during this break. More than I could have imagined. I have been doing lots of tutorials and reading both online forums and online books. After completing the Adding music to your Game tutorial by Unity, I moved on to attempting to decide what sort of game I wanted to do. I struggled with this for a while because I was uncertain as to whether or not I wanted to create a game from scratch or use a pre-made game and add in the audio myself. After seeing a classmates self made game, I was initially inspired and wanted to create something as creative and innovative as his work. However I later decided that given that he has had a bit more time working with Unity than I have, I would take a pre-exsisting game instead. This a link to the game I chose:

http://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials/projects/survival-shooter-project

This is the first video in the tutorial:

With this I moved onto my next point of action, choosing a good game to use. Initially I was going to use a simple game like this rolling ball game or the brick wall one. But instead, I ended up option for one of unity's "Survival Shooter" games. Reason being because it was both simple and complicated. It gave my space to get creative with sound, but was simple enough (especially with the aid of their tutorials), to create. The plot behind this game is that there is a little kid who has a nightmare that his toys have come to life and are trying to kill him.

I used the tutorial to set up the game step by step and replaced their audio with audio I picked myself. I still need to replace a few of the audio's, but so far I have the main characters "hurt" audio, the "Zombie Bunny's" "hurt" and "death" audio and the backing track.

To create the backing track, I used Logic X and aimed to create a short 8 bar piece that created a childish scene, but at the same time, was eerie and slightly creepy. I had a friend over a few days ago and showed her the game thus far and she, before I told her what I was aiming for, told me the backing track fitted so well and that it sounded spooky, but the Xylophone helped give the piece a "child's play" character. This I see as a success. As for the player "hurt" audio, I used a snippet I chopped using Logic Pro of the audio from the video "Charlie bit my finger" and used the "ouch" in it. The Zombie Bunny sounds originate from the game "Raving Rabbids Rabbit" which I got off the internet and recorded from my game, as I have a Wii version of the game. I knew I wanted to use these audio clips as soon as I watched the into of the gameplay of this "Survival Shooter" game. I used it because it gives the game a playful touch, which is what I wanted. And I believe that is adds to the whole background plot.

I still need to add the sound of the "Hellephant", which is an Elephant enemy. Even though I could potentially just take an audio sound online of an Elephant, I am hoping to look for something a little different to create a sort of "hell-sent" Elephant, or really something just a little different. So far one sound I have been trying to work on is one I found of a peacock which I think might work well. The player "death" audio also needs to be created an added. I think I will record myself saying "Oh no" or something along those lines and create the "game over" sound using logic, then combine the two and add the audio component.

  • Screen Shot 2016-01-18 at 11.12.41
  • SoundCloud Social Icon
bottom of page