top of page

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

P3 Part 2

Moving on to P3 part 2, I've known from the start that I wanted to do option C, since sound design for games is something I have been considering going into (although more the music composition aspect of it rather than the sound design part).

I have already installed Unity (I did as soon as P2 was done), and looked at some tutorials. Though I haven't done anything tangible just yet since I still had questions about the criteria and how to approach this part. For example, I was not sure if I also had to make the game, or if it was just a matter of finding a game and making the audio section myself. Now that I know it is the latter, I can move on with my work.

I plan on using a simple game for now, given that it is my first time doing this, and really trying to work on the sound design aspect.

As an avid gamer (Xbox, Wii, Nintendo DS, Gameboy Advanced, Playstation etc.), I am quite interested in this field. I'm hoping that this will be to an advantage with my work after listening to sounds and compositions added to gaming. By far my favorite one in terms of it's musical aspect is the Nintendo Super Mario ones as they are fun and really make the gaming experience wonderful. More specifically, Super Mario Galaxy! In case you have any doubts:

I think it would be lots of fun to make sounds that are silly. Like this for example:

I am yet to decide however, what sort of game I'd like to look at doing sound design for. I debated last week about whether I wanted to maybe do a simple one like the ball and the bricks one (which's name I've forgotten), or maybe games where you play in a set scene/battle field like the ones on this site:

And on top of that, if I'd like to do 2D or 3D and if it should be a mobile, console I have had some experience doing 3D things in Blender, but nothing too serious. It was more making mini animations with shapes or doing sceneary. Games is quite a different ball game. I've already gone ahead and done some research on sound design for game and have a few sites with tutorials and community pages I can go visit. Some of which I already knew of so that is helpful. All in all, excited to do this and hoping for the best!

  • Screen Shot 2016-01-18 at 11.12.41
  • SoundCloud Social Icon
bottom of page